Federal Fire Service Recruitment 2022/2023 Form/Portal

Federal Fire Service Recruitment 2022/2023 Form/Portal


The Federal Fire Service is a government institution in Nigeria that specializes in firefighting. The Nigerian Fire Service was founded in 1901 as an extension of the Lagos Police Fire Brigade. The Federal Fire Service was created by an act of Parliament in April 1963.

The Federal Fire Service (FFS) is tasked with rescuing fire prevention, mitigation, and suppression, as well as paramedic and information services. The Federal Government’s reorganization of the country’s fire services in 2007 redefined the Service’s role as the Regulation of State and Private Fire Services. Prescription and monitoring of standards for the promotion of fire education, fire prevention, safety, mitigation, and investigation, Ensuring effective discharge of the functions of the State Fire Services, Policy Direction for the Nation’s Fire Services; Ensuring the standardization of fire and rescue equipment manufactured or imported into Nigeria; encouraging the State Fire Services to establish an adequate number of fire stations and fire posts.

They are also referred to as firefighters. This organization has been around for a long time, and many people have been asking how to join it. In this article, I will explain everything in-depth on how to apply, as well as the requirements needed to join the National Fire Service.


Please keep in mind that applying to the Federal Fire Service is completely free of charge. The Federal Fire Service recruitment occurs once a year and they may not recruit for some years depending on the qualifications they require at the time.

Starting with the National Fire Service Recruitment 2022/2023, let’s talk about what you need to do in order to be chosen.

Requirements for Federal Fire Service (FFS) Recruitment

  1. All applicants must be Nigerian citizens by birth.
  2. All applicants must possess the necessary credentials and certifications. Any certificate or certification that has not been submitted and approved at the recruiting centre will be rejected after the recruitment.
  3. All applicants must be physically fit and have medical fitness certifications from approved government facilities.
  4. All applicants must be of good character and have never been convicted of a criminal offence in a court of law.
  5. All applicants must be drug-free and not members of any hidden cult or club.
  6. No applicant should have been shamed because of a financial problem.
  7. Applicants must be between the ages of 18 and 30 years old.
  8. All applicants’ heights must be greater than 1.65m for men and 1.60m for women.
  9. The chest measurement of all applicants must be more than 0.87, exclusively for males.
  10. Being computer proficient will give you an edge.

Categories of FFS Recruitment

There are three types of categories:

  1. The Superintendent, Cadre (Category A).
  2. Inspectorate Cadre (Category B)
  3. Assistant Cadre (Category C)

What are the functions of the Federal Fire Service?

  • State and private fire service regulations
  • Standards for the promotion of fire education and enlightenment are prescribed and monitored.
  • Fire prevention, safety, mitigation, and investigation.
  • Ensure that the State Fire Services’ tasks are carried out effectively.
  • Policies for the provision of fire services
  • Ensure the uniformity of fire and rescue equipment produced or imported into Nigeria.
  • promoting the installation of fire stations around the country.
  • Assessment of fire risk in public structures
  • Fire safety standards in public buildings must be strictly enforced.
  • Construction work is inspected to verify compliance with safety designs.
  • Campaigns for fire safety awareness and education
  • NFA builds capacity and develops manpower for the nation’s fire service.
  • Reports on fires must be prepared.
  • Fire certifications are issued.
  • Private fire departments must be regulated and registered.

Departments in the Federal Fire Service

In order to ensure that it performs its duties effectively, the Federal Fire Service is divided into departments, and there are seven (7) departments in the Federal Fire Service, namely:

  • Admin and Supply: Oversees appointments and employee well-being. oversees numerous commands and is in charge of overall administration.
  • The investigation, Inspectorate, and Enforcement: Makes sure that public buildings are safe from fire.Management of disasters
  • Policy Planning, Research, and Statistics: Policy Development. It gathers and compiles fire statistics for use in planning and research. In charge of communication and information
  • Operations: Firefighting executes the topography of given regions and authorities. Effects-based rescues
  • National Fire Academy provides national and African sub-regional firefighter training standards.
  • Finance & Account: They Create a personal budget. Manages the fund and its spending.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button