How to Know if Someone Blocked You on Snapchat- The only platforms where it is made obvious that someone blocked you are WhatsApp and Facebook. Snapchat is quite different. You may also think that a friend blocked you on Snapchat, but that may not be the case.
How do you know if someone blocked you on Snapchat? It is difficult to know this, because even if the person deleted their account, it looks like the blocked you.
However, there are a few tips that would help you to know if someone actually blocked you on Snapchat.
Ways to Know if You’ve been Blocked on Snapchat
- Check Recent Conversations
- Search for the person’s Username or Full name
Check Recent Conversations
This is the first step to knowing if you have been blocked on Snapchat. Remember not to come to a hasty conclusion.
Check your chat history and see if the user is there. You must have chatted with the person recently to use this option. To do this, open Snapchat and go to the conversations tab, using the bubbling speech icon located at the bottom left of your screen.
If after checking your recent chats and the person, who you chatted with quite recently is not there, it is possible that you were blocked.
This does not confirm that you were blocked though, as it is possible that you cleared your chats previously.
Search For the Person’s Username or Full Name
If the user merely deleted you from their friends list, you can search for their username and still find them. If you search for them and they do not show up, it is either they changed their username or blocked you.
If you were deleted from a user’s Snapchat friend list, you can still contact them using your account. However, if you were blocked, you cannot find or contact them in any way using the blocked account. If you were deleted by someone on Snapchat, you can still send them snaps and they will still be in your friends list.
However, they may not see them, if their Snapchat privacy settings allow only snaps from friends. Use the search tab located at the top of your conversations tab to search for the friend who you think may have blocked you.
Type the person’s username and enter it. If the user does not show up, try using their username to search for them. The username is a better option, as there are going to be lots of results with the same full name.
If you do not have the username, you have to search using the person’s full name. Browse through the results displayed and try to identify your friend using the pictures.
If you were deleted from the person’s friend list, their username will be displayed with the “add friend” tag. If you are still in their friends list, the user’s name will be displayed under the “my friends” tab.
After searching this way, if you cannot find the user, it is either they deleted their Snapchat account or blocked you.
These are two ways to know if someone blocked you on Snapchat. However, if you see these two signs, it does not necessarily mean that you were blocked, It is very possible that the person deleted their account.
There is a way to know what is what though. To verify if you have been blocked or the account was deleted, you just need to check from another account.
How to Verify if Someone Blocked you on Snapchat
This is a very easy way to confirm that you have been blocked.
Since you are unable to find them using your account, simply use another Snapchat account to check. Start by searching with the person’s username. If you cannot find the user, use the full name and try searching thoroughly.
You can use a friend’s account or sign out and create a new Snapchat account. If you do not want to cause a ruckus, you can create a new Snapchat account to check. However, if you think it is okay, as a friend to see if you were blocked.
You can create a new Snapchat account using the following steps:
- Sign out of your Snapchat account. Click on your profile to do so.
- Click on sign up instead of login
- You need to enter your full name, date of birth, a username, a password, and phone number or email address.
- Follow the prompts and login to your new Snapchat account
Search for the username of the person. If you find it, then you know for sure that you were blocked. If you do not see the user still, then it is likely that the Snapchat account was deleted.
Frequently Asked Questions
Here are frequently asked questions and answers about how to know if someone blocked you on Snapchat:
To block a user on Snapchat, follow these steps:
- Open the Snapchat app and go to the conversations tab
- Select the user you wish to block
- Click on menu and then block.
After you block someone on Snapchat, they can no longer see you in their conversations or friends list. They also cannot contact you in any way, or find you on Snapchat by searching for you.
Before you get angry at a friend for blocking you on Snapchat, do well to verify if you were actually blocked or the account was deleted. This post will help you know if someone blocked you on Snapchat.
Lifewire.com: How to Know if Someone has Blocked you on Snapchat