Nigerian Army Ranks – Full List of All Nigerian Army Ranks and Insignia

Want to know the Nigerian Army ranks, insignia and their meanings? Then this article is for you. The Nigerian army ranks is conferred on military officers in the army who have served effectively and efficiently. The criteria for conferring these ranks includes; years in active service, special promotions, presidential honors and many more.

The Military ranks of Nigeria are the military insignia used by the Nigerian Armed Forces to differentiate officers especially juniors from seniors.

Below is the list of all Nigerian Army Ranks in their respective order. Army ranking consists or subdivided into two parts, the Commissioned and Non-commissioned officers.

Each service branch of the Nigerian armed forces has an associated symbol with which it is known. The Nigerian Army logo is one symbol that differentiates it from the air force or the navy.

We shall explain the meaning of the eagle, the star sign and the meaning of the Arabic text writing just below the logo.

  • The eagle on the army logo signifies grace and power of the Nigerian army. Just like the way the eagle hovers above and attacks with  precision, that’s how the army strikes Nigeria’s enemies when fighting a war.
  • The symbol of the star represents the unity of Nigeria as one indivisible nation. This could be traced back to 1914, during the amalgamation.
  • The yellow and black colour on the star represents the Southern and Northern Protectorates that formed one Nigeria.
  • The Arabic writing in the Nigerian Army logo when transcribed in English means ‘Victory comes from God alone’.
  • The colour red on the flag stands for threat and enemy elements while the black represents the Nigerian cavalry and troops.
READ ALSO:  How To Book A God Is Good Motors (GIGM.COM) Bus Online 2020

Commissioned Officers (CO):  are the managers, problem solvers, key influencers and planners who lead Enlisted Soldiers in all situations. are responsible for leading and training enlisted.

Non-commissioned Officer (NCO): is a military officer who is given authority through a commissioned officer, but he or she is not technically considered to be in command.

Nigerian Army Ranks for Commissioned Officers

There are 11 ranks in the Nigerian Army for commissioned officers which Field Marshal is the higher rank among and Second Lieutenant is the lowest rank.

The complete list of Nigerian Army commissioned officers ranks can be seen below:

  • Field Marshal – ★★★★★ [5 Stars]
  • General – ★★★★ [4 Stars]
  • Lieutenant General – ★★★ [3 Stars]
  • Major General – ★★ [2 Stars]
  • Brigadier General – ★ [1 Stars]
  • Colonel
  • Lieutenant Colonel
  • Major
  • Captain
  • Lieutenant
  • Second Lieutenant – [Lowest Rank]
READ ALSO:  AKTC Motors: Prices, Bus Terminals, Online Booking Guide and Contacts Details - 2020

Nigerian Army Ranks For Non-commissioned Officers

There are 8 ranks in the Nigerian Army for non-commissioned officers. They include:

  • Warrant Officer Class I
  • Warrant Officer Class II
  • Staff Sergeant
  • Sergeant
  • Corporal
  • Lance-corporal
  • Private
  • Recruit – [Lowest Rank]

Other notable facts about Nigerian Army

Current formations of the Nigerian Army include:

  • 1 Division, headquartered in Kaduna
  • 2 Division (HQ in Ibadan)
  • 3 Armoured Division HQ in Jos
  • 6th Amphibious Division HQ Port Harcourt
  • 7th Infantry Division (OP-LD) HQ in Maiduguri
  • 8th Division HQ Sokoto
  • 81st Division (Amphibious) HQ in Lagos
  • 82nd Division (Airborne and Amphibious) HQ in Enugu
  • Guards Brigade HQ in Abuja

The Nigeraian Army currently has over 6,000 officers and 150,000 soldiers.

Military locations

The following are installations owned by the Nigerian Army:

  • Ribadu Cantonment (Kaduna)
  • Adaka Boro Barracks (Elele)
  • Giwa Barracks (Maiduguri)
  • Maimalari Barracks (Maiduguri)
  • Fort Nagwamatse (Kontagora)
  • Obienu Barracks (Bauchi)
  • Ejoor Barracks (Effurun)
  • Camp Wu Bassey (Abuja)
  • Fort IBB (formerly Fort Obasanjo) in Abuja
  • Sani Abacha Barracks (Abuja)
  • Yakubu Gowon Barracks (Abuja)
  • Aguiyi-Ironsi Barracks (Abuja)
  • Gado Nasko Barracks (Abuja)
  • Mogadishu Barracks (Abuja)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *