List of Universities in Edo State

Universities in Edo State

Universities in Edo State – Edo State is a beautiful Southern state in Nigeria. The state is the 22nd largest space per area with an area size of 17,802 km² I.e 6, 873 sq ml and is rated as the 27th most populous state in Nigeria with a population rate of 8,000,000 people.

 Edo is one of the 36 States in Nigeria blessed with lots of beautiful people. 90 percent of Edo citizens are usually very pretty; masculine, and feminine although not ruling out the popular notion of Edo citizens being one of the states with the highest number of witches as well as idol worshippers.

Edo state is made up of four major ethnic groups namely; the Esan, the Owan, the Edo(Binis), and the Afemai(Etsako and Akoko Edo). The Edo language is most spoken in the Edo state despite the diversity of ethnic groups. Edo state remains one of the best states for tourism because of its national museum, the Oba’s palace, Ogba zoo as well as other beautiful places to explore.

The current Governor of Edo state is Godwin Obaseki. The capital of Edo State is Benin city and its motto is ‘Heartbeat of Nigeria’.

There are several primary and secondary schools in Edo but there are seven universities of which four are privately owned. Two of the universities are state universities and one university belongs to the federal government.

In this article, we will be discussing the universities we have in Edo state.

List of Universities In Edo State

1.Ambrose Alli University, Ekpoma

2.Benson Idahosa University, Benin city

3.Igbinedion University, Okada

4.Samuel Adegboyega University, Ogwa

5.Edo University, Dynamo

6.The University of Benin,

7.Wellspring University, Evbuobanosa – Edo State

8.Mudiame University, Irrua, Edo State

1.Ambrose Alli University, Ekpoma

Ambrose Alli University is a state institution that was founded in 1981 by Ambrose Folorunsho Alli but at that time, the institution was named Bendel university.

Bendel state was a single state which housed the now Delta and Edos. Later on, Bedel state was divided into Edo and Delta. After that, the institution’s name was changed to Edo state university and finally, it was changed to Ambrose Alli University in remembrance of the governor who created the institution; Ambrose Folorunsho Alli.

The institution currently has fourteen faculties including but not limited to the Faculty of basic medical sciences, faculty of Law, faculty of physical sciences, faculty of management sciences amongst others as well as the college of medicine.

2.Benson Idahosa University, Benin City

Benson Idahosa University, (BUI) is a private institution that was founded in February 2002 in Benin city, Edo state. At its inception, the institution was named Christian Faith Institution but its name was changed in 1998 in respect of the first president and founder of the institution; Benson Idahosa, a renowned Archbishop and Christian missionary who ensured to preach the gospel wide and near during his existence.

Benson Idahosa university holds the record of being the only university in the whole of Nigeria and Africa at large that has an international membership with the National Academy of Inventors. Currently, the institution has seven faculties.

3.Igbinedion University, Okada

Igbinedion University is another private university in Nigeria that is located in Okada, Edo state, and was founded in 1999 by a billionaire, an important chief in Benin as well as a philanthropist; Sir Gabriel Osawaru Igbinedion CPR. The university currently has seven colleges namely;

College of Natural and Applied Science. Courses offered under it include Computer Science, Microbiology, and Industrial Chemistry.

Abdul Salam Abubakar College of Engineering.

Courses offered under it include Civil Engineering, Electrical Engineering, Mechanical Engineering, and Chemical Engineering.

College of Arts and Social Sciences. Courses offered under it are Theater Arts, Political Science, Geography, Economics, and English.

Dora Akunyili College of Pharmacy

Oba Okunade Sijuwade College of Health Sciences.

Courses under it are Physiology, Nursing Science, Anatomy, Medical Laboratory Science and Biochemistry, and Oba Erediauwa College of Law.

Igbinedion University has been rated high as one of the best universities in Nigeria.

4.Samuel Adegboyega University

Samuel Adegboyega university is another private university that is located in Ogwa, Edo State and was established in 2011 by The Apostolic Church Nigeria and was named after the first overseer of the church, Pastor Samuel Gbadebo Adegboyega.

On the 7th of March, 2011 which happened to be a Monday, the university was officially recognized by the federal government and in 2012, academic activities Kickstarter. In addition, all courses offered in the institution have been approved by the NUC.

The university currently has four colleges viz: College of Law,  College of Basic and Applied Sciences, College of Humanities, and College of Social and Management Sciences.

5.Edo State University, Iyamho

Edo State University, Uzaire, with its acronym being EDSU is the second state-owned university in Edo state. It was established in the year 2016 making it just 6 years of existence in Iyamho, Edo state by the then Governor of the state; Adams Oshiomole.

However, the creation of this university did not sit right with a lot of  people as they felt the Governor could have simply repaired the other universities present in the state.

Despite the criticism, in just two years of existence, Edo State University was rated as the first best state university and the third university in Nigeria by NUC in the first Open Educational Resources in its institutional repository.

The institution has six faculties that offer undergraduate and postgraduate degrees.  The faculties are science, engineering management, and social sciences, medical sciences, arts, and law.

6.University of Benin

The University of Benin is the only federal institution located in Edo state. The institution was founded in 1970 and was formerly known as the Institute of technology.

The university has a lot of faculties as well as faculty libraries. The faculty libraries are Ekehuan Library, Management Science Library, Life Science Library, Medical Library, Law Library, Agricultural Library, Engineering Library, Physical Science Library., Pharmacy Library, Basic Medical Library, Social Science Library, and Education Library.

7.Wellspring University

Wellspring University is a private university that was founded in 2009 on a solid Christian foundation and the institution is located in Benin, Edo state.

The university has four colleges namely:

The College of Health Science

Courses under them include Medical Laboratory Science and nursing.

The College of Social and Managemet sciences

 Courses under them include Taxation, Business Administration, Mass Communication, Economics, Hotel Management, Public Administration, Accounting, International Relations, and Entrepreneurship

The College of Computing

: Courses offered include. Computer Science, Cyber Security Information Technology, and Software Engineering.

Courses offered are Microbiology and


8.Mudiame University, Irrua

Mudiame university is another private institution that was founded just last year by professor Sunny Eromosele Eboh.

Sunny Eromosele Eboh. Is the CEO of Mudiame International Limited and Mudiame Welding Institute.

The university currently has two faculties namely Faculty of Basic science and computing as well as Faculty of Basic Science and computing.

The university offers degrees in courses like BSc Computer Science, and BSc Accounting amongst others.

Here you have it. These are the right universities present in Edo state with state-owned state-owned, one is federally owned and the rest are private owners.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like