Uniport Courses: Full List of Approved Courses

In this post, we will be talking abut the updated list of all the accredited Jamb courses offered by the University Of Port-Harcourt [UNIPORT].

uniport courses

Thinking of gaining admission to the University Of Port-Harcourt [UNIPORT] and you do not know the course of choice? We have outlined a list of all approved courses offered at the University Of Portharcourt [UNIPORT] for intending students and Jambites.

Background of University Of Port-Harcourt [UNIPORT]

The University of Port Harcourt is a university in the Nigerian city of Port Harcourt. It was established in 1975 as University College, Port Harcourt, and was given university status in 1977. The University of Port Harcourt was ranked the sixth in Africa and the first in Nigeria by Times Higher Education (THE) in 2015.

The university originally had six schools in 1977:

  • School of Humanities
  • School of Social Sciences
  • School of Biological Sciences
  • School of Chemical Sciences
  • School of Physical Sciences
  • School of Educational Studies
  • School of Science Laboratory Technology (SSLT)

It changed from a school system to a faculty system in 1982. The university now has twelve faculties:

  • Faculty of Humanities
  • Faculty of Social Sciences
  • Faculty of Education
  • Faculty of Engineering
  • Faculty of Management Sciences
  • College of Health Sciences
  • Faculty of Basic Medical Sciences
  • Faculty of Science
  • Faculty of Dentistry
  • Faculty of Pharmacy
  • Faculty of Agriculture
  • Faculty of Law

Updated List Of Faculties and Departments In University Of Portharcourt (UNIPORT)

List of Faculties and Departments in tabular format:

1 Faculty of Clinical Sciences
  1. Internal Medicine
  2. Paediatrics and Child Health
  3. Anaesthesiology
  4. Surgery
  5. Obstetrics & Gynaecology
  6. Preventive & Social Medicine
  7. Nursing
  8. Radiology
  9. Mental Health
  10. Ear, Nose and Throat Surgery
  11. Ophthalmology
2 Faculty of Basic Medical Sciences
  1. Anatomy
  2. Physiology
  3. Pharmacology
  4. Anatomical Pathology
  5. Chemical Pathology
  6. Haematology, Blood Transfusion & Immunology
  7. Medical Microbilogy
  8. Medical Biochemistry
3 Faculty of Dentistry
  1. Restoration Dentistry
  2. Child Dental Health
  3. Oral & Maxillofacial Surgery
  4. Preventive& Social Dentistry
  5. Oral Pathology & Oral Biology
4 Faculty of Pharmaceutical Sciences
  1. Clinical Pharmacy and Management
  2. Pharmaceutical and Medicinal Chemistry
  3. Pharmaceutical Microbiology and Biotechnology
  4. Experimental Pharmacology and Toxicology
5 Faculty of Humanities
  1. Department of Music
  2. Department of English Studies
  3. Department of Fine Arts and Design
  4. Department of Foreign Language & Literature
  5. Department of Religious and Cultural Studies
  6. Department of History & Diplomatic Studies
  7. Department of Philosophy
  8. Department of Theatre and Film Studies
  9. Department of Linguistics and Communication Studies
6 Faculty of Social Sciences
  1. Department of Economics
  2. Department of Geography & Environmental Management
  3. Department of Sociology
  4. Department of Political & Administration Studies
7 Faculty of Sciences
  1. Department of Animal & Environmental Biology
  2. Department of Microbiology
  3. Department of Plant Science & Biotechnology
  4. Department of Pure & Industrial Chemistry
  5. Department of Computer Science
  6. Department of Geology
  7. Department of Mathematics and Statistics
  8. Department of Physics
  9. Department of Biochemistry
8 Faculty of Education
  1. Department of Adult & Non-Formal Education
  2. Department of Curriculum Studies & Educational Technology
  3. Department of Educational Foundations
  4. Department of Educational Management and Planning
  5. Department of Education Psychology, Guidiance. & Counselling
  6. Department of Human Kinetics & Health Education
  7. Department Library and Information Science
  8. Department of Early Childhood and Primary Education
9. Faculty of Engineering
  1. Department of Chemical Engineering
  2. Department of Petroleum Engineering
  3. Department of Civil Engineering
  4. Department of Mechanical Engineering
  5. Department of Electrical Engineering
  6. Department of Gas Engineering
  7. Department of Environmental Engineering
10 Faculty of Agriculture
  1. Department of Agricultural Economics and Extension
  2. Department of Animal Science
  3. Department of Crop and Soil Science
  4. Department of Fisheries
  5. Department of Forestry and Wildlife.
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like